About the Modern Library Awards

The Modern Library Awards are an annual unbiased program recognizing elite products and services for the library community. To be considered, companies provide concise write-ups of their products or services and submit them for review by the LibraryWorks readership, more than 80,000 librarians in public, academic, K-12, and special libraries -- who then submit reviews based on a 1-10 scoring system. Each judge has to have had experience with the product or service evaluated, and each participating company also must furnish three references of library placements to submit its entry. The LibraryWorks staff has no influence on the scoring.
Awards are based on the following scores:

Platinum (9.0 - 10.0)

Gold (8.0 - 8.99)

Silver (6.50 - 7.99)

Highest Overall Score – Product of the Year
High scoring products that do not garner enough votes to make a scientific sample are awarded Honorable Mention.


An administrative fee of $395 per product or service entered is assessed to cover program costs.

2021 Modern Library Awards Application